Add to Cart:

Ask a question

Model: 51480150
UPC: 8.84088E+11
0 Units in Stock
Manufactured by: Hal Leonard
Condition: New

** This product is currently out of stock. **
Out of stock Hal Leonard items ship in approximately 3 business days.
For an estimated shipping date on all other items, please call 1.800.318.9692 or email orders@the-music-store.com. You may also proceed to the check-out and we will contact you within 1 business day of receipt of your order with an estimated shipping date. All in stock items ordered with this item will be shipped according to our normal shipping policies.

Piano Sonatas - Volume III (Early and Unfinished Sonatas)

Schubert's 22 piano sonatas sketch a most illuminating picture of the prematurely departed composer and of his compositional path. From the first attempts of the gifted 16- to 19-year- old musician one can trace a continuous development leading to the five great sonatas which he wrote in the years 1823 and 1826, and finally to the three masterworks written shortly before his death, which place him on a level with Beethoven as a composer of sonatas.

The intensity with which Schubert approached the genre of the piano sonata meant that he left a large number of piano sonatas incomplete. Volume III of the three-part Henle Urtext edition contains – next to the early sonatas from the years 1815-1818 – the fragments completed by Paul Badura-Skoda, whose completions are highlighted each time by small cue notes. The Critical Report in the Appendix also provides precise information about the genesis of the individual works.

Contents: Sonata in E Major, D 157 • Sonata in C Major, D 279/346 • Sonata in E Major, D 459 • Sonata in A-flat Major, D 557 • Sonata in E minor, D 566 • Sonata in D-flat Major, D 567 • Sonata in F-sharp minor, D 571/614/570 • Sonata in C Major, D 613/612 • Sonata in F minor, D 625/505 • Sonata (relic) in C Major, D 840 • APPENDIX: Early version of Sonata in E Major, D 157, 1st movement, D 154 • Early version of Sonata in C Major, D 279, 3rd movement, D 277A • Fragment in C-sharp minor, D 655 • Fragment in E minor, D 769A

(ed. Paul Badura-Skoda, fing. Paul Badura-Skoda)

Piano Solo

Copyright © 2019 The Music Store. Powered by Zen Cart