Add to Cart:

Ask a question

Model: 50602272
UPC: 888680988678
ISBN: 9781540080974
1 Units in Stock
Manufactured by: Hal Leonard
Condition: New

Where the Bee Dances for Soprano Saxophone and Chamber Orchestra

Composer: Michael Nyman.

This saxophone concerto, written in one continuous movement with a wide variety of tempi, celebrates the talents of John Harle, who has been a central player in the Michael Nyman Band for over ten years. The title has a double reference: on the one hand to the circular orientation dances which a foraging bee performs to communicate the location of food source, and on the other hand to my setting of 'Where the bee sucks', composed for Peter Greenaway's film Prospero's Books and quoted sporadically during the concerto. However, most of the material is derived from a 4-chord sequence that John once overheard me playing and which he expressed a particular liking for. -Michael Nyman

Copyright © 2021 The Music Store. Powered by Zen Cart