Add to Cart:

Ask a question

Model: 51481469
UPC: 840126989649
1 Units in Stock
Manufactured by: Hal Leonard
Condition: New

Sonata in F Major, Op. 6 for Violoncello and Piano

Composer: Richard Strauss.

Aside from the Piano Quartet op. 13 and the Violin Sonata op. 18, the Cello Sonata numbers among the most mature works of chamber music from Strauss' early oeuvre. The influences of Mendelssohn, Schumann, and Brahms are noticeable, while leaving sufficient space for a very personal tonal language, often with surprising rhythmic and harmonic turns of phrase. Strauss subjected the first version completed in early 1881 to a radical revision over the winter of 1882/83; the opening movement was thoroughly reworked, the two subsequent movements rewritten completely. It was worth it, because after the premiere in Dresden, the composer wrote to his mother, “My sonata garnered extraordinary acclaim, the applause was enormous, congratulations came to me from all sides.”

Copyright © 2022 The Music Store. Powered by Zen Cart